Skip to content

In Search of a Writing Playlist

January 8, 2014

Some would say listening to music while trying to write is impossible. I thought so too, but that was before I had more choices as to when and where to write. (Of course, a more creative writing requires a different setup.)

Lately I needed the noise so I could be at peace with my ‘writing self’. Without really thinking about it, I just found myself setting my MP3 player to a specific album when I wanted to write and finish whatever I was writing.

Image

Two years ago, I discovered that Adele’s “21” was a good and effective album to listen to while writing. I actually don’t have a rigid set of rules on choosing a writing playlist: just a set of songs that will allow me to space out so I can focus more into writing; a set of songs that can drown the outside noise but provide me the ear for listening to my own thoughts.

I think the reason “21” made a good writing companion was that it was not too loud nor too soft or soothing to the point that you will fall asleep when you listen to it. The beats of Adele’s songs are enough to keep my brain cells alert but not too sharp that they create chaos in my mind. I can still sift through my ideas even while my ears are tuned in to the rhythm and the lyrics of dealing with heartaches, of fighting back the urge of going after your ex and of standing up again and finally moving on.

Last year, I found myself beating the deadline in coffee shops more often. Loving Up Dharma Down’s “Capacities”, I unconsciously assigned the album as my writing playlist. I could not hear the noise around me but I could still think and write while Armi Millare was humming in the background.

Image

Two years and two albums after, I sit here in front of my computer, iPod on shuffle, my fingers more often than not tinkering with the play and forward buttons—all because I can’t seem to sync my mind to one single album that could make ideas flow more smoothly.

I have my running playlist, my wake-up-and-shake-your-body playlist, and my other personalized albums but I don’t have a new writing playlist. So now I’m torn: should I go pick an album just like before and make it my writing playlist or should I concoct my own version of I’m-in-a-groove-to-write album?  A big part of me wants to explore new albums out there or maybe rediscover existing ones.  Another part tells me to spend time choosing songs that best suit the pace of my writing. But doing so will only be ‘recycling’ the songs that I have with me, right?

How about you? Do you have a “writing” or “doing your thing/craft” song/s?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2014 23:24

    This is so me. I am a music head. I need it, and must have it when I’m in a writing zone, different music serves it purpose for different things. And it definitely inspires me and allows words to flow better. That’s just me.

    Dee
    https://cheapandfabulousmom.wordpress.com

    • January 9, 2014 09:01

      Hey, thanks for checking my blog. Yup, music junkie here as well. 🙂

  2. January 10, 2014 18:50

    Bob Dylan always works for me, starting with ‘Thunder on the Mountain” then moving to his more mellow songs like “Tangled Up In Blue” and “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight”. I also love his book “Chronicles: Volume One” that describes his writing process. ~ Dennis

Leave a Reply

