A Perfect Rain in Zurich



This is, by far, my favorite among the songs from The Fray’s new album, Scars and Stories.

Written and sung by guitarist Joe King, this song has the familiar “Look After You” effect. It just sweeps you off your feet. King apparently wrote this in Zurich (no surprise there) during the band’s European tour. In an interview with Denver Westword, he said:  “We had just gotten in. This was during the second record tour. I hadn’t been home for a good couple of months, and literally, I just got to my room – it was pouring outside, I’d been in a plane all day, cooped up in plane, and I was tired, but I didn’t want to just stay in the room. Another cold hotel room with modern lamps and TVs mounted on the walls. I was just so annoyed about where I was at, physically.

“So being in a beautiful city, I decided to go outside and walk in the rain, and so I just got outside, and pretty much, I felt like I was the only one out in the city. It was probably eleven at night, I was walking through the alleyways and streets of Zurich, soaking wet. I got back to the room and started writing. I was missing home and missing feeling.

“I felt like I was dried up and so I kind of started messing around with this song. I was also missing my honey at that time. I was wanting her and couldn’t be with her and so there’s this element of desire in the song of this need that’s unmet that I cannot meet and what that was doing to me. So I just kind of captured that night with this one.”

My favorite lines:

“I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And I’ll hold your body slowly turning

I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And breath it in and take it off and soak our skin”

and these:

“Maybe I’ll find you, maybe I won’t

Maybe I’ll try to even if I don’t

You are what I never knew I needed”

 

Here’s the complete lyrics:

Rainy Zurich 

 

In midair floating off to space

I’m moving in your hair

Is falling all around my face

Like a parachute

I’m breathing in, you’re breathing out the same

We give and take

And let the water fall on the flame

It’s not burning out

 

I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And I’ll hold your body slowly turning

I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And breath it in and take it off and soak our skin

 

She’s in a town that holds a lonely road

And the night is falling

There’s a road that follows to her home

And the sky is heavy

In the home she’s in a lonely room

With music playing

Can she hear my heart coming through

On the door between

 

I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And I’ll hold your body slowly turning

I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And breath it in and take it off and soak our skin

 

Maybe I’ll find you, maybe I won’t

Maybe I’ll try to even if I don’t

You are what I never knew I needed

What I never knew I needed

What I never knew I needed

We’re almost there

 

I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And I’ll hold your body slowly turning

I’ll keep you warm, dancing in a downpour

And breath it in and take it off and soak our skin

Soak our skin

 

Leave a Reply

